Wiktoria Wojciechowska

Sparks

New Discovery Award - Winner of the Public Choice’s Award

Curated by Sébastien Dupuy

Sparks is a multidimensional portrait of a forgotten but still raging contemporary European conflict: the war in Ukraine. Ukrainians are fighting each other, with government forces on one side and pro-Russian separatists on the other. Wiktoria Wojciechowska went in search of combatants and victims to recount its impact on the lives of ordinary people. The title, Sparks, refers to incandescent shrapnel that mercilessly pierces the walls of houses. Civilians living near the front call it Іскри or iskry, in Ukrainian. Looking up at a hail of burning fragments, they know it is already too late to seek shelter. The “sparks” signal death and fear. Combining photographs, collage, film and symbolic images of armed conflict with pictures and words collected from combatants, Sparks offers several perceptions of war.

Winner of the Rencontres d’Arles Public's Choice Award 2018

Winner of the Prix de la Photo Madame Figaro Arles 2018

wiktoriawojciechowska.com

LOCATION: Jimei Citizen Square Main Exhibition Hall

Artist presented by Galerie Confluence (Nantes, France)

www.galerie-confluence.fr

Prints by Printshop 1923, Warsaw and Picto, Paris.

Framing by Atelier Demi-Teinte, Paris.

About the New Discovery Award

Since its creation, the Rencontres d’Arles has promoted photography and all its stakeholders, from photographers themselves to exhibition curators and publishers.

In that spirit of openness, the Rencontres d’Arles has teamed up with galleries for the New Discovery Award.

Galleries play a pioneering role by often being the first to spot tomorrow’s talent. They can propose an exhibition project by an artist they represent whose work has been recently discovered by an international audience or deserves to be.

In 2018, ten projects have been shortlisted and displayed at Rencontres d’Arles. During opening week, a jury bestows the New Discovery Award on artist and his or her gallery, entailing an acquisition worth €15,000. The public votes for the Public’s Choice Award, entailing an acquisition worth €5,000. Paulin Oltheten (The Netherlands; presented by gallery Les Filles du Calvaire, Paris, France) won the New Discovery Award, while Wiktoria Wojciechowska (Poland; presented by Galerie Confluence, Nantes, France) won the Public Choice’s Award.

维多利亚·沃伊切霍夫斯卡

(海燕)

《闪光》

策展人:塞巴斯蒂安·杜佩

《闪光》从多个维度描绘了当代欧洲所发生的一场冲突,虽已被人遗忘,却仍愈演愈烈:乌克兰战争。乌克兰人在跟自己人斗争,一边是政府军,一边是分裂分子。维多利亚·沃伊切霍夫斯卡探访了战士和受害者,力图叙述战争对普通人生活的冲击。标题《闪光》指的是无情击穿房屋墙壁的耀眼弹片。抬头看见一阵烧着的碎片,他们便知道已经来不及找掩护了。“火花”预示着死亡和恐惧。《闪光》结合了摄影、拼贴、视频以及象征性的图像,包含了从军人那儿采集来的照片和他们所说的话,将带给人对战争的多种感触。

获得2018阿尔勒摄影节观众评选奖
获得2018 Madame Figaro 摄影奖

wiktoriawojciechowska.com

展览地点:集美新城市民广场展览馆

合流美术馆推介艺术家 (法国南特) www.galerie-confluence.fr 

印刷:1923印刷工坊(华沙)、皮克托(巴黎)。

裱框:半色工坊(巴黎)。

关于新发现奖

阿尔勒摄影节自创立以来,推广了摄影及其相关从业者,从摄影师自己到策展人和出版商。在开放精神的指引下,阿尔勒摄影节与多家画廊一道重塑了新发现奖。

画廊常常率先发现明日之星,扮演了先锋的角色。若有一位画廊为之背书的艺术家,作品近期已经为公众所恰如其分地熟识,画廊便会为其策划一个展览项目。

2018年,有十个展览项目被选拔出来,选送阿尔勒摄影节展览。在开幕第一周,评审团将新发现奖颁予获奖艺术家和该艺术家的画廊,奖金为15000欧元;公众可以投票选出公众评选奖,奖金为5000欧元。保林•奥尔特滕(荷兰;法国巴黎磨难之女美术馆推介)获得新发现奖,维多利亚•沃伊切霍夫斯卡(波兰;法国南特汇流画廊推介)获得公众评选奖