uncertain traces

Curated by du xiyun

Ai Moyang (1969), Hu Weiyi (1990), Li Bo (1982), Meng Huang (1966), Mo Junfeng (1963), Qin Jin (1976), Zhang Zhuyun (1984), Zheng Hongchang (1982).

Being open to the future is a prerequisite for stimulating creativity. In this process, diverse patterns are formed in their most natural way. China today, having sustained many years of fast-paced economic growth, has driven all kinds of change, some with immediate effect and some where the impact has been slower to emerge.

With technological development, photographic production and transmission has become a daily technology for everyone, and the threshold of photographic skills has almost vanished. At this time, the border between professional and amateur has turned to the curation of experience and the quality of thought.

So, in the context of the festival, the participants of this exhibition are not professional photographers, but rather are frequent users of the tools and methods of photography to express themselves. If photographers have strict tricks of the trade, these exhibitors do not follow the rules. For their own purposes of expression, their methods are self-sufficient. From the perspectives, attitudes and ideas revealed in the works, artists of different ages, genders, and from various regions are very different: Mo Junfeng using documentary photographic techniques as far as possible to capture the maze of multiple fragments of China; Ai Mo Yang combines photos and computer generated virtual images, so that the ruins of the invisible psychological state can magically become real; Li Bo slows down the shutter speed to capture the naked body on a dark campus night; Hu combines photography and installation, a flash of quiet fluorescent light passes through a young body and other equipment, fishing out life’s inexplicable nature in time and space; Qin Jin takes Chinese young peoples’ emblems, slogans, school uniforms, and offers a psychological account of the mixed feelings young people have in their vast mental universe. Both Meng Huang and Zhang Zhujun use archival methods in creating regular images. Although the logic of the combination is different, both are quite conscious of the particular living environments they find themselves in and question; Zheng Hongchang’s composition uses genetically modified radishes and blood as his model, to create a concrete, visual image, turning the common situation of people living in China into an abstract that almost no one can stay out of.

These intuitive works reveal a lot about China. Compared with the past, changes now happen anytime and anywhere, and their whereabouts may twist and turn, without recourse to a reverse. No matter their differences, artists share a concern for the fate of the individual and a hope in a more open future. This is the instinctive call of life, however expressed. Because human nature has never changed, despite our ever increasing number of options.

Du Xiyun

LOCATION : jimei citizen center

行踪不定

杜曦云策展

爱默杨 (1969), 李博 (1982), 秦晋 (1976), 莫俊峰 (1963), 郑宏昌 (1982), 张竹筠 (1984), 孟煌 (1966).

在当代中国,各自奔走的个体,行踪各异,但是否有对当代文明的明确意识和主动追求?或者,在追求经济利益时,对与之联动的各种秩序是否有清晰的意识?有什么样的意识?……只有仔细辨别不同个体的具体行踪,才能对这些问题有所体验。

随着技术的发展,影像的生产和传播已经成为当代人的日常技能,职业和业余者的竞技,转为对体验和思考质量的品咂。所以,在摄影节这个情境中,本次展览的参加者,并没有职业摄影家,但他们都频繁运用摄影这一工具、方式来进行表达,都有自足的方式。

从作品所透露出的视角、态度和观念来看,这些年龄、性别、生活地域各不相同的艺术家,彼此间的差异性很大:莫俊峰用纪实摄影的手法,尽可能丰富的捕捉中国这个迷宫的多个碎片;爱默杨把实景拍摄和电脑虚拟图像结合起来,让废墟中不可见的心理状态以魔魇般的方式逼真浮现;李博调慢相机的快门速度,赤裸的躯体在深夜的校园中飘忽不定;胡为一把摄影和装置结合起来,一根闪着幽冷萤光的电线贯穿青年们的肉体和其它器具,钓出生命在时空中的莫名情愫;秦晋把中国式青少年教育中常见的标徽、口号、校服,和浩瀚宇宙以心理空间的方式组合百感交集的世界;孟煌和张竹筠都以文献归档般的方式,组合成规整的图像,虽然组合的逻辑不同,但都是相当自觉的在特定生存环境中找寻自我,或者质疑自我;郑宏昌用转基因萝卜和血液组成的装置,成为他拍摄的模特,用具体、直观的形象,抽象出当下在中国生活的人几乎全都无法置身事外的某种共同处境。

这些直观可感的作品,流露着当下中国的不少信息。和往昔相比,新的变化依然随时随地在发生着,行踪可能时而直线时而曲折,但前行的方向没有逆转。艺术家们彼此之间的差异虽然很大,但对个体命运的关注和对更加开放的未来的企盼,却是所有人作品中挥之不去的共同气息。这是生命的本能诉求,只是不同个体在不同处境中的具体表现不同。因为人性从来没有变过,尤其在具有更多可能性的当下。

杜曦云 

展览地点:厦门市集美区市民中心