su jiehao

the storm in the morning

Curated by li jie

Similar to other youngsters in China, the environment in which Su Jiehao grew up has rapidly urbanized. His early photographic works mainly explore concepts like self-recognition, cultural memory and belonging. Since he was born in the era of the one-child policy, autobiographical memory and perceptual experience play an important role in his artistic practice.

In his recent works, Su Jiehao returns to his personal experience —— exploring the intersection of perception, translation and representation. Besides the anxiety of individual cultural identity, the artist attempts to arouse a “higher awareness”, one kind of poetic feeling concerned with daily situations (life itself). Based on this kind of awareness, the road connecting his inner heart to the outside world can be found.

The Storm in the Morning (2017-2018), Su Jiehao’s latest work, is an autobiographic one. Images from different sources are integrated, blending digital, natural and cultural worlds. 14 fragments of memories, monologues as well as images of maps, films and paintings are interwoven, constituting an independent and interdependent comprehensive narrative. The poetic lens quietly blurs the boundary between space and time. In this work, Su Jiehao abstracts the subtle sense of belonging from personal memories. Meanwhile, this work also responds to the tradition of remembrance in Chinese ancient literature: the dialogue and connection can be established between experience and perception, languages and image as well as present and past. 

Li Jie

LOCATION: Jimei Citizen Square Main Exhibition Hall

苏杰浩

《早晨的风暴》

策展人:李杰

苏杰浩和大多数生长在中国的年轻人一样,成长于高速城市化的背景下,他的早期摄影作品主要探索个人认知,文化记忆,以及归属感等概念。独生一代的大时代背景,引发了自传性的记忆和自我感知性的体验在他的艺术实践中扮演的重要角色。艺术家苏杰浩通过一系列摄影、文本、影像、声音为我们挖掘出了久违的安静,淡然而不失惊喜的影像力量。

苏杰浩近期作品将工作起点回归个人历程——探寻关于感知、转译、以及再现的交叉地带。艺术家试图在个体文化身份的焦虑之外唤起一种“更高的意识——一种关于日常情境(生活本身)的诗性”,借以建立起自身连接内部与外部世界的通路。

苏杰浩影像新作《早晨的风暴》(2017-2018)是一部自传性的作品。作品中的素材包含许多来源不同的材料,融合了数字,自然和文化的世界。艺术家将14段记忆中的影像,自我的独白和挪移的关于地图、电影与画卷的图像交织在一起,构建了一种独立成章又相互依存的综合叙事,诗意化的镜头不动声色地模糊了空间和时间的界限。借此苏杰浩从个体记忆中抽离出一种微妙的归属感,同时“回应了中国古典文学中关于追忆的传统:在经验和感知,文本和图像,现在和过去之间形成某种对话和联系”。

李杰

展览地点:集美新城市民广场展览馆