SISTER

LU YANJIN

curated by HUANG RUI

If it wasn’t for Yanjin, I would not be writing this essay. The thing is I have known Yanjin for a long time, and while I have not always kept in touch, he has always existed in my consciousness. Together we talk about home and rarely about art. We hardly ever talk about photography. While not close, we have a shared fate, the two being different forms of acquaintance. Photography can be said to be quite professional, and it can also be quite generalist. It can be popular but it certainly is not common. Talking about and looking at Chinese photography, including Yanjin’s, is one such example.

The coexistence between us began in 2002, which makes it 15 years old. It was 15 years ago that I returned to Beijing from Japan and started working in 798. Yanjin was just 15 years old, long hair and delicate eyes. With a half serious, half distainful look on his face.

I was only interested in performance art at that time, making art all over the city. Yanjin helped me record my work. He helped with Super Shopping. With him, I made Yanjing Eight Sights with four of Beijing’s top models. Yanjin was just a kid then, only reaching the height of these beautiful women's shoulders. Since then he has become a super photographer.

Who can believe that back then we could use Tiananmen Square as a performance art venue!

Later, Yanjin became one of the rebellious youth, not only rebelling against his teacher RongRong, but also turning on photography itself. Some think that his personality is too special, but I think rebellion is the company that art likes to keep. Regular art concepts and social interests tend to get stirred together, and have a binding effect on youthful longing and sense of challenge. Without the photographer’s title, Yanjin is still Yanjin, and returning to his family’s side in Xiamen made him even more his own person.

Looking at Yanjin’s photographs, I see a relationship with confrontation. His metamorphosis of self-identification and repressed metamorphosis became a type of transformation. The moment of transformation is hard to pinpoint and cannot be replicated. The four series of this exhibition are not connected to each other. All are improvised and without logic. There are connecting lines, but you won’t nd punctuation marks. It is hard to assess what professional language Yanjin works in, instead he will answer you with a long silence.

After 15 years, Yanjin has found me once more, and given me the task of curator. He could be right again, because I know absolutely nothing about being a curator.

Fifteen Years, 26 September 2017, Huang Rui

DURATION: NOVEMBER 25 - JANUARY 25, DAILY 9AM-9PM

LOCATION: DREAM SPACE

妹妹

卢彦锦

黄锐策展

如果不是彦锦而是什么别人,我不会写这个文章。问题是彦锦是我早就熟识,并非一直关注,可是他存在。我们可以拉家常,很少谈艺术,根本不怎么谈摄影。 我们不能说是常相识,可以说常相在。相在是一种情况,相识又是一种。摄影可以说相当专业,又可以相当普遍化。虽然普遍,但不普通,谈,或者看中国摄影,包括彦锦,可能就在其中。

这种相在自 2002 年开始,已经 15 年了。15 年前我 刚从日本回京,开始创建 798 的事业。彦锦那时不 过 15 岁,长头发,细咪着眼。半张脸虔诚,半张脸 不屑的样子。

我那时搞行为艺术,满城转,彦锦帮我拍记录。为了 《超级购物》的现场行为和拍摄。我收集了『燕京八景』 和京城最美的四名模特。彦锦还未长成,只够上美女们的肩膀高,可是他已是名超级摄影师了。

谁敢相信,我们居然拍了以天安门为现场的行为艺术!

稍后,彦锦进入青年反抗期,不仅反抗了他的老师荣 荣,也开始反抗摄影了。别人以为他的个性太特殊, 我认为是与艺术为伍的常情。通常的艺术观与社会趣 味搅在一起,对年青人的自然向往和挑战意识有超级大的束缚作用。没有摄影家头衔的彦锦还是彦锦,他回到厦门家人的身边,更加我行我素。

看彦锦的照片,我就看出这么一个对抗的关系。他在自我识别中发展变态,又压抑变态,成为一种转化。 转化的瞬间不可预测,也无法复制。在这个展览上的四个系列,全无关联,全部即兴创作,没有逻辑性。有线条纵横,但没有标点符号。很难说彦锦的专业语 言究竟如何,他会以一种长久的沉默回答你。

时隔 15 年,彦锦又找到我的头上,摊派一个策展人 的任务给我,这事儿也许是他又对了,因为我根本不懂策展。

《十五年》, 黄锐, 2017/9/26

展览时间:2017年11月25日 - 2018年1月25日, 每天9AM-9PM

展览地点:DREAM SPACE 臆想空间