CROSSOVER PHOTOGRAPHY

PHANTOM PAIN CLINIC

Jimei x Arles' Crossover Photography section invites Shen Chen as curator to show the possibilities of photography on movie, fiction, objects, cosmos, architecture and so on.

Curated by Shen Chen

Yoshikatsu Fujii (1979), Hsu Che-Yu (1985), Shen Linghao (1988), Max Sher (1975), Sheida Soleimani (1990), Wang Tuo (1984).

Phantom limb syndrome, coined in 1871 by the American neurologist Silas Weir Mitchell, refers to the sensation of an amputated or missing limb still being attached – the experience of pain, also called “phantom pain”, in an absent limb or a portion of a limb that is no longer there. Phantom pain is physical, yet psychological.

Applying the basic prototype of “Loss/Damage - Pain - Observation - Intervention”, the exhibition Phantom Pain Clinic takes “phantom pain” as a metaphor, surveying the types of different “phantom pains” and attempting to find a cure. The origin of phantom pain can be psychogenic but also an intrinsic stress response to the loss of the organs. It is easy to recognize the loss of a body part, but harder to come to a shattered personality, the loss and erasure of memories, and the damage or division to the social structures.

In the exhibition, artists are also doctors. They uncover and observe different kinds of phantom pains.

In Hiroshima Graph – Rabbits Abandon Their Children, Yoshikatsu Fujii put his focus on Okunoshima, Hiroshima Prefecture. 72 years after World War II. Okunoshima, also known as “Rabbit Island,” is now a peaceful and enjoyable resort destination, but its years under the name “Poison Gas Island” during World War II is rest just under the surface. The works - flashing back to ordinary island scenes, weaving in the archival images and text as poison gas production evidence - try to pass on the truth about an almost forgotten history of suffering.

Hsu Che-Yu’s November 11th, 1970 was derived from an old news story in 1970 of setting a statue of Sun Yat-sen (Sun Zhongshan) in Zhongshan Park in Taiwan. With on-site image scenes, virtually animated figures and a subtly altered report from the time, Hsu tries to conjure a period of ghost-like history he did not experience.

In Scenery in Heart - Theater of History, Shen Linghao presents the interior of Jiangnan Shipyard and Chiang Ching-kuo’s former residence, which was converted into light-sensitive images in dark boxes. The factory that was seized by invaders became their exhibition pavilion once again; a villa that was frequented by celebrities was leveled to ground overnight. It is like a theater act within a hall of mirrors, in which various self- con icted dramas echo off one another.

The background of Max Sher’s Map and Territory is based on the history of Nazi Germany’s siege of Leningrad from 1941 to 1944. It shatters simplistic historical discourses written by the State to construct a sort of a speculative museum out of a deliberately labyrinthine mixture of "fact" and "fiction". It also investigates the Soviet political regime in a defensive position, which led to an almost total ban on non-authorized image- making and even the possession of images in the besieged city. Taking the “counter-revolutionary” photographers' group People’s Eye; nurse Antonina Lavrova, who “illegally” possessed German landscape postcards; and blind person Pyotr Gorchakov, who wrote his diary in braille, as prototypes, the artist plays the role of a spy in the project. Through these fictional profiles, re-shot surroundings, “secret” graphs, braille diary, as well as cut-out postcards, Sher unfolds substituted meanings and challenges a piece of real yet falsified history.

In National Anthem, Sheida Soleimani, as Iranian-American, pays attention to those forcedly disappeared Iranian females who were executed because they resisted violence. She appropriates low-resolution online pro les, cultural symbols, and signifiers to forge a viewing of the Middle East from an outside lens and point a finger at the guilt in the past and the present.

Wang Tuo’s Meditation on Disappointing Reading is inspired by the novel Three Daughters of Madame Liang (1969), which was not widely accepted in China. Through reproducing and creating two female figures, the artist discusses the discomfort of leaving hidden documents to stay as they are. Time is like a filter over a screen, showing us only the trauma left by historical events without letting us know the causes

In the above works, the artists have appropriated more or less forgotten images, texts, and plots. They are like phantoms hovering through the dark recesses of the physical and digital worlds. They point to the ambiguous imagination, stir up interlinking possibilities and trigger narrative illusions that speak to that which can never be fully reconstructed. The artists attempt to restore or re-contextualize the materials and to anchor them, so as to explore these phantom pains.

Phantom pain does not lead to death necessarily but reminds the afflicted of the absence of what was once there and what it means to persevere through anguish. Phantom pain can be mitigated or suspended, but it is difficult to cure it completely. Facing up to it, nevertheless, may be the first step towards healing and understanding.

Shen Chen

DURATION: NOVEMBER 25, 2017 - JANUARY 3, 2018

LOCATION: JIMEI CITIZEN CENTER

无界影像

幻痛诊所

2017 集美·阿尔勒国际摄影季“无界影像”单元邀请策展人 沈宸,在电影、虚构叙事、被介入的物件、宇宙空间、建筑 等不同面向上展开摄影的多元跨界可能。

沈宸策展

藤井良雄 (1979),许哲瑜 (1985),沈凌昊 (1988),马克思·谢尔 (1975),谢达·索莱马尼 (1990),王拓 (1984).

“幻肢”(Phantom limb)这一概念由美国神经医学家塞拉斯·威 尔·米切尔(Silas Weir Mitchell)于 1871 年提出,是指某些 失去器官的人类所产生的一种幻觉,这些人感觉失去的四肢仍旧 附着在躯干上、并和身体的其他部分一起移动。由此在幻肢上产 生的疼痛感称为“幻痛”(Phantom pain)。这种疼痛既是生理 的亦是心理的。

展览“幻痛诊所”将“幻痛”作为隐喻,以“缺失/破损 - 伤痛 - 观察 - 介入”作为基本原型,针对不同的“幻痛”类别和诱发机 制展开观察或尝试治疗。“幻痛”的“病理”可能是心因性的, 却也是组织部分缺失后机体自我产生的应激机制。肉体的残缺明 显易查,而人格的碎裂、记忆的丧失或篡改、社会结构的破损却 不那么容易知觉。

在此,艺术家们化身为诊所的“医生”,对不同的“幻痛”进行 了各自的观察并加以揭示 :

藤 井 良 雄 的《Hiroshima Graph – Rabbits Abandon Their Children》将目光聚焦在了广岛县的大久野岛 :在距离广岛核爆 的 72 年后,这座以“兔子岛”闻名的地方已是一片祥和,然而 另一段在二战时制造毒气的历史却被人有意无意地掩埋。作品在 当下温馨的场景和有关毒气制造的文字、图片档案资料中不断回 闪,以此试图讲述一段几被遗忘的罪恶历史 ;

许哲瑜的《1970 年 11 月 11 日》受到一则台湾 1970 年于中山 公园塑立孙中山铜像的老新闻启发,通过实地拍摄的场景、虚构 的动画形象、以及被抹除了”国父“字样的原始新闻稿,尝试还 原一段他未曾经历过的鬼魅时代 ;

沈凌昊在《心中的景致 - 历史的剧场》中拍摄了江南造船厂和蒋 经国旧居的建筑内景,并将其制作成感光图像置于黑匣中——那 些曾经被占领的工厂成为占领者的展馆,而名流出没的别墅在一 夜之间被强行拆毁,如同一个迷失方向的剧场 , 演绎着一系列自相矛盾的剧本 ;

马克思·谢尔的《地图与领土》以二战时期 1941-1944 年纳粹 对列宁格勒进行围城为背景。作品粉碎了简单化的历史讲述并试 图构建一个交织了事实与虚构迷宫的博物馆。作品还对苏区在敌 人进行围城的情况下,在城中禁止私人拍照和图像制作、占有等 情况进行了调查。艺术家以 1941 年冬天被逮捕的 6 人摄影师团 体“人民之眼”、非法持有德国风景明信片的护士安东尼娜·拉罗娃、书写盲文日记的彼得·戈尔恰科夫等人的遭遇作为原型, 在作品中扮演了“间谍”的角色。通过虚拟了身份的肖像、重新 拍摄的历史建筑、饱含秘密的图表与盲文,以及碎裂的明信片图 像等信息,艺术家对真实和伪造的历史展开了追索和质疑 ;

在《民族颂歌》中,美国艺术家谢达·索莱马尼以其伊朗裔的身份, 将焦点投注到那些因反抗暴力和侵害而遭受“被消失”命运的伊 朗女性身上。通过挪用及拼贴残存于网络上的低分辨率肖像,艺 术家对这段极端的历史和现实进行了控诉 ;

王拓的《奠飨赋》以曾经禁绝于大陆汉语世界的小说《梁太太的 三个女儿》为蓝本,通过虚拟的两个女性形象探讨了人们无法阅 读或接近某些被有意尘封文献时的尴尬处境,以此探讨历史事典 所留存的却又无法被知晓的创伤。

在这些作品中,艺术家或多或少都对几乎被遗忘或丢失的图 像、文本、故事等进行了挪用。这些碎裂的图像和文本如幽 灵(phantom)般潜藏在世界的某个角落抑或游移于网络之 中。它们曾指向歧义的想象,勾引链接的可能,激发叙事的幻 觉,却难以被完整。艺术家企图通过还原和重新植入上下文(recontextualize)的方式对它们加以锚定,并由此对不同的“幻 痛”加以探究。

“幻痛”或许并不致死,但却不断通过“痛楚”提醒着曾经存在的” 缺失“,以及残余主体的”存在“。“幻痛“在很大程度上只能 被暂时地缓和或中止,却难以被绝对地治愈。但至少,直面那些 残缺,是我们通向理解和治疗“幻痛”的第一步。

沈宸 

展览时间:2017.11.25 - 2018.1.3

展览地点:厦门市集美区市民中心