OSCAR MOTULOH

SOULSCAPE ROAD

CURATED BY BERENICE ANGREMY

Photographing disasters has been a mission of photojournalism since the very beginning of photography. And before photography, it was artists who were sent to the scenes of disasters. While some have the capacity to report shocking or captivating testimonies, others, faced with tragedy, permeate their images with soul and internal reflection.

Just as Goya, who terrorized himself and his public with his famous work The disasters of war, denounced the absurd horrors of war through his drawings, photographers like Oscar Motuloh give off an atmosphere beyond the image of the tragedies themselves.

Disasters, tsunamis, earthquakes, landslides are the landscapes of Soulscape Road, a series of photographs taken before 2011, showing an Indonesia tortured by the elements. Oscar Motuloh, photographer and curator, created the Galeri Foto Jurnalistik in Antara. He is the key figure of the Antara News Agency. The black-and-white photographs he captures of places crossed by disaster are timeless but also frozen in time. They dwell close to the earth, drought, crevasses and trees disfigured by storms.

Photographs first, then book, Soulscape Road has recently been made into a film in cooperation with musicians Toni Prabowo and vocalist Nyak Ina Raseuki, whose soundtrack is throbbing and bewitching, like a call of the earth.

Bérénice Angremy

DURATION: NOVEMBER 25, 2017 - JANUARY 3, 2018

LOCATION: JIMEI CITIZEN CENTER

奥斯卡·蒙督鲁

灵魂逃脱之路

黎静策展

自摄影出现以来,拍摄灾难就是新闻摄影的使命之一。在摄影出现以前,就有被派往灾难前线的艺术家。他们中的一部分人记录下震撼人心的灾难场面,也有一部分摄影师,面对灾难时,在他们的影像中注入灵魂、渗入艺术家的内心思考。

就像戈雅用其名作《战争的灾难》震慑了自己及公众,用画作谴责了战争制造的荒谬恐怖,像奥斯卡·蒙督鲁一样的摄影师们,表现出一种超越悲剧图景本身的气氛。

灾害、海啸、地震、山体滑坡是“灵魂逃脱之路”中的景观,这一系列照片拍摄于2011年以前,那时候的印度尼西亚饱受自然灾害的折磨。作为摄影师和策展人的奥斯卡·蒙督鲁在安塔拉创 建了新闻图片美术馆,并且是安塔拉新闻图片社的关键人物。他捕捉那些遭遇灾难的地方,似乎将永恒冻结在一瞬间。 而且黑白照片中大地、干旱、裂谷、被暴风与摧残的树木景象最真实。

“灵魂逃脱之路突出的是......发生在印尼的灾害和我们如何反思这一事件。当我做报道的时候,我拍摄的照片像是见证者,告诉人们“这就是发生在某处的事情”。而对于“灵魂逃脱之路”,我的捕捉带有个人色彩,这些照片是我个人对事件的理解。通常, 这些照片都是风景和静物,即使图像中有人物,他们的角色也很微小。展示这些照片的目的是让观众想象自己身处那种情境,并激发他们一种“热爱生活”的情绪。这就是展览背后的想法。”

首先是摄影作品,其次是书籍,不久前“灵魂逃脱之路”又被制作成电影。电影的配乐师是托尼·普拉博沃和尼亚克·伊那·拉索基, 他的原声音乐扣人心弦又充满魅力。

黎静

 

展览时间:2017.11.25 - 2018.1.3

展览地点:厦门市集美市民中心