Limb Eung-sik

History Through The Lens

co-CURATED BY kim sunyoung and Seok Jae-Hyun

Limb Eung-Sik (1912-2001), was not only a well-known and pioneering Korean photographer, but also an administrator, educator and critic, who made great contributions to the establishment of the theory and artistic substance of photography as a thread of Korean art. As a figure of Korean photography and a witness of South Korea’s dramatic changes through the 20th century, Limb’s works have both an aesthetic and historical value. The exhibition, which covers most of Limb’s 50-year long photographic career, introduces Limb Eung-Sik both as artist and with texts on the history of Korean photography, little known by an international audience. It also examines the role of Limb in the history of modern Korean art, instrumental in lifting the status of photography from documentary technique to art.

Before the Korean War (1950-1953), since the Imperial Japanese rule (1910-1945), Korean photographic works were mainly painting-like artistic photography or examples of pictorialism. Having been a war photographer during the Korean War, Limb Eung-Sik, who was born in Busan but grew up in Japan, became interested in realistic photographic techniques, later advocating a genre of photography called ‘life-centered photography’ - a form of humanistic realism, expressing the realities of society and everyday lives - which became very popular after the war.

This exhibition features a selection of 20 photos by Limb Eung-sik from the collection of The Museum of Photography in Seoul, starting in the 1930s, when, influenced by pictorialism, he experimented with style using his first camera, a middle school entrance gift, to his war photography of the early 1950s and his post-war photography that attempted to provide objective representations of social phenomena and the momentariness of everyday existence. His portraits of Koreans of the times, exhausted by social circumstances but striving to earn a crust, is well evidenced in one of Limb's most iconic images, Job Hunting (1953), while the survivors from the heavy shelling of the war are represented by a single bare tree in his Naked Trees (1953).

LOCATION: Three Shadows Xiamen Photography Art Centre

In partnership with The Museum of Photography, Seoul.

林应植

透过镜头看历史

策展人:金善英,石宰贤

由韩国摄影博物馆合作策划

林应植(1912~2001),不仅是著名的韩国摄影的先驱者,也是管理者、教育家、批评家,促成了摄影在韩国艺术史上理论基础和卓越艺术地位的建立。林应植作为韩国摄影的标志人物和韩国二十世纪历史剧变的见证人,他的作品兼具美学价值和历史价值。此次展览包含了林应植五十年的摄影生涯的部分作品,在介绍艺术家林应植本人,以及他艺术创作上的成就,以文本形式展示,观众据此可了解国际上甚少知晓的韩国摄影史内容。展览还审视了林应植在现代韩国艺术史上的作用,他将摄影的地位从纪实拔高到了艺术。

朝鲜战争(1950~1953)以前,自日治时期(1910~1945)起,朝鲜半岛的摄影作品主要都是图画一般的艺术摄影,即画意摄影。生于釜山成长于日本的林应植在担任朝鲜战争的战地摄影师期间,对记录事实的现实主义摄影产生兴趣,随即倡导一种摄影风格“生活中心摄影”,是一种基于人文主义的现实主义形式,表现社会现实和人民生活,在战后变得非常流行。

本次展览重点展出20张林应植精选相片,均来自于首尔摄影美术馆的馆藏,从他的三十年代摄影生涯的起步开始,彼时他中学入学,获赠人生第一台照相机,受画意摄影影响,他用这台照相机试验了多种摄影风格,到他五十年代初期的战时摄影作品,以及战后用以客观表现社会现实、感受日常琐碎稍纵即逝的摄影作品。林应植最为标志性的图像《求职》(1953)巧妙展现了他对当时韩国人的刻画:为时局所累疲惫不堪,却为谋生努力不懈;而他的《裸露的树枝》(1953)用一棵光秃秃的树表示在猛烈炮火中幸存的人们。

展览地点:三影堂厦门摄影艺术中心

与首尔摄影博物馆合作