after the ebb

curated by chen wei

Cai Dongdong (1978), Lara Gasparotto (1989), Sarah Mei Herman (1980), Chad Moore (1987), Arnoud Noordegraaf (1974), Wu Ding (1982)

In the all-inclusive contemporary society, it is becoming increasingly difficult for us to identify with our chaotic surroundings. We seem to be lost in an endless flow of ocean currents, engaging ourselves in a monotonous cycle of daytime trivialities and extravagant nightlives cloaked in darkness. The advance of globalization and marketization urges modern cities towards ever increasing assimilation. Meanwhile, the inhabitants of these metropolises have homogeneous lives, experience and circumstances.

Though currently personal experiences and individual disparities seem gradually to be diminishing, some people, somewhat surprisingly, still take delight in living in a state of superficial self-contentment and rationality. This is due to a lack of distinctiveness, mechanization, and as a result of Forer effect. With such a backdrop, we are able to extract slices from the pervasive identical social context through the perspective of artists, so as to disclose this unusual surface and visualize another vaguely existing world - a world of one's own which is free of both ostentation and clamour from the outside.

Image is not only that of gazing into the other, but is also a portrayal of the artists' inner world. Here, the process of image creating is an authentic course of gradually peeling off the realities and achieving a regression to the true self, resembling the emergence of a silent beach after the ebb. Through image, we encounter seemingly familiar moments, echoing that which is already in our mind and spot the implicit side in ourselves. This enables us consequently to face the plight that each individual is experiencing with a renewed and optimistic attitude.

After the Ebb features the ensuing reflection and case study following the 2016 Jimei × Arles International Photo Festival's Local Action exhibition phu2-su6 (The Floating Island).

Chen Wei

DURATION: NOVEMBER 26 - DECEMBER 17, DAILY 10 AM - 8 PM

LOCATION: HOTEL WIND, WE SPACE

退潮之后

陈伟策展

蔡东东 (1978), 劳拉·卡斯巴欧托 (1989), 萨拉·梅·赫尔曼 (1980), 查德·摩尔 (1987), 阿诺德·诺德格拉夫 (1974), 吴鼎 (1982).

在万象森罗的当代社会中,我们越来越难以辨识这个芜杂的周遭世界。从白日琐碎的无趣循环,到被黑夜包裹的酒池肉林,我们似乎正在迷失于一片漫无边际的洋流中。全球化、市场化的进程也使当代都市愈发趋于同质,而生活在这些大都市之下的个体也有着非常相似的生活、经历和境遇。

在个体经验和个体差异性被很大程度上削弱了的今天,无特征,机械化,以及巴纳姆效应竟赋予了部分人乐于活在表皮的自足­与合理性之下。在这样的背景下我们藉由艺术家的视角,在若出一轍的社会语境中获取些许的局部切片,以此来揭开这般不寻常的平静,找寻隐约存在的另一个世界,即一个去除外在浮华与噪音的个体世界。

在我们看来,影像即是对他者的凝视,更是艺术家自我内心的写照。在这里,影像营造的过程更是逐层剥离现实世界,回归个体内心真实的过程。犹如退潮之后,浮现出一片寂静无声的滩土。我们或在其中遇见似曾相识的瞬间,邂逅已然存在于内心的东西;或在其中认出我们自己隐秘的侧面,让我们换一种达观的态度看待个体正在经历的困境。

“退潮之后”是继2016集美X阿尔勒国际摄影季在地行动“浮屿”之后的延续思考和研究专案。

陈伟

展览地点:城市跨区域空间