The third Jimei x Arles International Photo Festival will take place in Xiamen (south of China) from November 25, 2017 to January 3, 2018. Xiamen, formerly known as Amoy, is a coastal city that has been an important port for centuries. Located across the Taiwan strait, famous for the colonial-era Gulangyu island, it is a vibrant and modern city that is also the home of China's independent fashion scene. The festival's main sites are located in Xiamen's new district of Jimei.

Co-created by Sam Stourdzé, the director of famous international photo festival Rencontres d’Arles (France), and Chinese photographer RongRong (also the founder of Three Shadows Photography Art Centre, China’s first ever professional art center dedicated to photography), Jimei x Arles features international artists selected from Rencontres d’Arles alongside Chinese and Asian photography talents. The festival has attracted more than 100,000 visitors since its inception in 2015.

In 2017, the two founders of the Jimei x Arles International Photo Festival appointed Bérénice Angremy as festival director (Doors 门艺 Art & Culture Agency), co-founder of art festivals DIAF (2004-2007) and Caochangdi Photospring – Arles in Beijing (2010-2012), and former cultural attaché at the French embassy in China (2012-2017).

The 2017 festival will boast the works of more than 150 artists from the United States, France, Iran, Spain, the Netherlands, Indonesia, and of course China. The festival’s aim of providing a platform for new Chinese photography has once again been re-affirmed with several exhibitions showcasing young Chinese photographers and curators. The 21 exhibitions of 2017 Jimei x Arles attest to the diversity of photographic approaches and practices, and will include:

Jimei x Arles aims at strengthening its role as a platform for photography in Asia. Along with the exhibition program, a number of events are organized for photography professionals, art lovers and the public during the Opening Week (November 25-December 2nd): the Photobook fair, the Photo Folio Review, a Photography Seminar, the ‘Arles Night of the Year’, university lectures, discussion panels, art performances and guided tours.

With two main sites in Xiamen’s Jimei District and several other sites in the city, the festival aims to connect and animate separated cultural areas and spaces, to relay and promulgate different art forms through the city.

Jimei x Arles International Photo Festival is co-produced by Xiamen’s Jimei District and Three Shadows Photography Art Centre.

 

Organizers: Three Shadows Photography Art Centre, Tianxia Jimei Media

Special co-organizer: Rencontres d’Arles

Executive producer: Doors 门艺 Art & Culture Agency 

Partners: French Embassy in China, Crédit Agricole

Co-organizer: Wan Shun Housing Group

Steering Committee: Xiamen Federation of Literary Art Circles, Xiamen Jimei District Federation of Literary Art Circles


JIMEI x ARLES 2017 AT A GLIMPSE

  • From November 25th to January 3rd
  • 21 exhibitions
  • More than 150 artists
  • Events: PhotoFolio Review, University lectures, Master classes, Night of the Year, Screenings...

 

  • 8 Exhibitions from Rencontres d'Arles 2017
  • 4 "China Pulse" Exhibitions curated by young Chinese or China-specialist curators
  • 5 Discovery Award Exhibitions (10 Young Chinese Photographers nominated)
  • 1 Solo Exhibition of Wang Wusheng
  • 2 "Asia Pulse" Exhibitions from the 2017 Guest Asian Country (Indonesia)

第三届集美·阿尔勒国际摄影季将于2017年11月25日至2018年1月3日在厦门(中国南部)举办。摄影季由著名国际摄影节阿尔勒摄影节(法国)主席萨姆·斯道兹和中国当代摄影艺术家荣荣(中国第一家专业摄影艺术中心三影堂摄影艺术中心创始人)联合发起,集美·阿尔勒摄影季将展示从阿尔勒摄影节中精选出的国际艺术家,以及中国和亚洲摄影人才的艺术作品。自2015年创立以来,摄影季已吸引了10万多名观众。

2017年,两位发起人特邀黎静(Bérénice Angremy, Doors 门艺 Art & Culture Agency)担任第三届集美·阿尔勒摄影季总监,她曾是大山子国际艺术节(2004-2007)和草场地摄影之春-阿尔勒在北京(2010-2012)联合发起人,并曾担任法国驻华大使馆文化专员。

2017年摄影季将会展出来自英国,美国,法国,伊朗,西班牙,荷兰,印度尼西亚以及中国的150多位艺术家的作品。摄影季将通过多场与中国年轻摄影师及策展人联合呈现的展览,再次重申为中国新锐摄影提供一个平台的宗旨。 2017年集美·阿尔勒的21场展览将见证摄影方法和实践的多样性,具体将包括:

集美·阿尔勒旨在加强其作为亚洲摄影平台的角色。 在丰富的展览项目之外,开幕周期间(11月25日至12月2日)还将举办一系列面向摄影专业人士,艺术爱好者和公众的活动:摄影书市,专家见面会,摄影研讨课,“阿尔勒年度之夜“,大学讲座,讨论会,艺术表演和导览。

通过联动厦门集美区的两个主要场馆和城市跨区域空间,摄影季意在连接和带动分隔开的文化区域与空间,在整个城市内接续和传播不同的艺术形式。

集美·阿尔勒国际摄影季由集美区政府支持,三影堂摄影艺术中心和厦门市天下集美文广传媒有限公司联合主办。

 

主办方: 三影堂摄影艺术中心厦门市天下集美文广传媒有限公司

特别协办: 阿尔国际勒摄影节

执行出品: Doors 门艺 Art & Culture Agency 

合作伙伴: 法国驻华大使馆, 东方汇理银行

协办: 万舜文投

指导: 厦门市文学艺术联合会, 厦门市集美区文学艺术联合会


2017集美·阿尔勒国际摄影季一览

  • 2017年11月25日-2018年1月3日
  • 21场展览
  • 150余位艺术家
  • 精彩活动:专家见面会,影像研讨课,大师课,年度之夜,影像放映会
  • 8场2017“年度阿尔勒”单元展览
  • 4场“中国律动”单元展览,由中国策展人或中国摄影专家策展
  • 5场“集美·阿尔勒发现奖”展览(10位中国摄影师被提名)
  • 1场汪芜生个展
  • 2场“印尼影汇”单元展览